Workspaces
Robin Gieck avatar
Written by Robin Gieck
Updated over a week ago

What are workspaces?

Everything you do in Hubql takes place in a Workspace. It is your basecamp for all your data models. You can organize all your Hubs and data model files the way you want - just as a solo developer, together as a team, or across the whole company. Expand, edit and model it to fit your needs.

Find your way around

  1. Menu bar

    The menu bar is where you can find and access global actions in Hubql. You can switch between workspaces, view your workspace settings and members, and sign out. The menu bar also displays breadcrumbs to indicate your current location, and these breadcrumbs serve as links to help you quickly navigate. On the far right of the menu bar, you will find your access to your notification center, a link to the help center, and your account settings.

    1. Workspace settings

      In the top-left corner of the menu bar, click on the Hubql logo to open your workspace settings.

      Here, you can switch between workspaces that you have created or have access to.

      You can also access several useful actions:

      • Create a new workspace (available with a premium plan; contact sales).

      • Open the workspace settings to rename your slug URL for a more readable share URL or delete the workspace.

      • View current workspace members and edit permissions.

      • Sign out.

    2. Breadcrumb

      Breadcrumbs not only tell you where you are in Hubql but also serve as navigation links. Each segment provides a link, taking you precisely where you want to go. The hierarchy of the breadcrumbs remains consistent - from left to right, you will see your workspace name, your Hub name, and finally, your file name.

    3. Notification

      Receive notifications across workspaces, Hubs, and files that you own or have access to in Hubql. The Hubql notification center helps collect changes and activities when you start collaborating with your team.
      Receive precise feedback on your work through Hubql discussions when someone @mentions you.

    4. Help

      At Hubql, we understand that learning new software can be challenging or overwhelming. In response to that, we have carefully crafted our help center to guide you in getting more work done faster and having more fun with Hubql.

    5. Account settings

      Having control over your account is important. To access your account settings in Hubql, click on your avatar in the top-right corner of the menu bar. You will be prompted with a small summary of the accounts you have connected to Hubql.

      Here, you can see how many accounts you currently have connected to Hubql. Currently, we only support Google and GitHub account connections to keep your account safe by default.

      You can choose to remove connected accounts but must always have at least one way of signing in.

      You can connect up to two accounts: One Github and one Google account.

  2. Tabs

    Tabs are used in Hubql to group links together and provide focused navigation with context.

    Workspaces Settings

    Access your members' management dashboard, and invite, remove and assign roles to members in your workspace.

    Settings gives you access to a way to change your workspace URL, making it more personal and memorable. It also holds the power to delete a workspace.

    Fair warning: If a workspace is deleted, you will lose all Hubql files and Hubql data added to your GitHub files that haven’t been committed and pushed.

    Hubs filter

    Hubql Hubs helps you stay organized and manage what people on your team and outside your organization can see and access. Hubs adds a layer of permission management, keeping your data models and work safe from unwanted eyes.

    Hubql Hubs support three uses cases:

  1. Hubs: Hubs created under 'Hubs' are owned by the workspace. Everyone who is a member of your workspace will have access to data models in these Hubs.

  2. Private: As the name suggests, private Hubs are owned by you. 'Private' does not mean you can only work alone; you still have access to Hubql's sharing capabilities.

  3. Shared with me: This filter includes all Hubs and files shared with you. If someone outside your organization shares a file with you, it will appear under the 'Shared' filter tab. Similiarly, if someone within your organization creates a private file and invites you, you can find that file under 'Shared Hubs'.

You can also add Hubs to your favorites for quick access to the ones you are currently working on.

Did this answer your question?